EmbLogic's Blog

Linux Run Levels

Linux Run Levels
Run Level    Description
0                    Halt
1                     Single-User mode
2                    Multi-user mode, usually without networking support
3                    Full multi-user mode with networking
4                    Unused
5                    Multiuser mode with networking and a graphical X window Session
6                    Reboot

- To change run level use init command

init run_level
- Most normal is run level 5 for graphical linux system.
- Level 1 is used for troubleshooting or emergency purpose.
- Most linux softwares start the network softwares at run level 3.
- What aplications work at Run level is determined by system by RC script.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>